2010 WNBA Championship

WNBA LogoThe 2010 WNBA championship began this past weekend.  The Seattle Storm and the Atlanta Dream tipped off for the WNBA Finals on Sunday, September 12, 2010 at 3 pm (EST). The best-of-five started in Seattle, Washington at KeyArena.

Seattle won their first title in 2004. This year, Seattle defeated the Los Angeles Sparks and the Phoenix Mercury to secure a spot in the championships. The Storm went 28 – 6 during the regular season and clinched home court during the playoffs.

Sue Bird and Swin Cash helped the Storm bolt over the Mercury by posting high numbers in rebounds and points per game.  Sue Bird finished second in the league in assists. Bird is known as a clutch shooter in the WNBA. She made the last shots, which “sealed the deal” for Seattle during both playoff games against Phoenix.

Swin Cash is enjoying her resurgence as a top defender in the WNBA.  Cash is a former Detroit Shock and two-time WNBA champion. However, she has suffered multiple injuries, mainly knee and back problems. She decided to undergo back surgery over a year ago, and took time off for rehab and rest.  She’s back with a vengeance.

The Atlanta Dream’s story is different. They were not expected to beat the New York Liberty to advance and play in the championships. The Dream is an expansion team. They went 19-15 during the season, and experienced financial troubles at the beginning of the season. The Dream was able to secure new ownership and a new star emerged. Angel McCoughtry is the new leader of the team. She is the Dream’s leading scorer, a former University of Louisville standout. It is McCoughtry’s first year as a pro.

McCoughtry is a rookie, playing for a championship, and she was selected to represent and play for the USA Team during the FIBA World Championships. The FIBA World Championships are slated to begin September 23, 2010. The USA will play Senegal in a preliminary round on Sept 24 and another preliminary round against France on Sept 25. After the preliminary rounds, the teams are seeded for the Eight Final Rounds on September 27 – 29 before being classified for the quarter-finals and semi-finals. The women are playing overseas this month. The ultimate goal is win the championship and get slotted for the Olympics.

The USA Team’s roster is comprised of Jayne Appel, Seimone Augustus, Alana Beard, Sue Bird, Rebekkah Brunson, Swin Cash, Tamika Catchings, Tina Charles, Shameka Christon, Candice Dupree, Sylvia Fowles, Lindsey Harding, Ebony Hoffman, Asjha Jones, Kara Lawson, Angel McCoughtry, Renee Montgomery, Maya Moore, Candace Parker, Cappie Pondexter, Diana Taurasi, Kia Vaughn, Lindsay Whalen, and Candice Wiggins.

Tina Charles received the “Rookie of the Year” award, and the All-Rookie Team includes Charles, Monica Wright, Kalana Greene, Kelsey Griffin, and Epiphanny Price.

It must be difficult and overwhelming to maintain such a busy schedule. These women definitely love the game of basketball!